About us

The Deutsches Historisches Museum (German Historical Museum) is Germany’s national historical museum. Located in Berlin’s historic district of Mitte, it sees itself as a place of active communication and discussion of history.

The Deutsches Historisches Museum was founded by the then Federal Republic of Germany and the Land Berlin in 1987 on the occasion of the 750th anniversary celebration of Berlin. The buildings and collections of the Museum für Deutsche Geschichte (MfDG), the central historical museum of the GDR, were transferred to the ownerschip of the Deutsches Historisches Museum within the framework of the contract on German reunification. Thus with reunification in 1990, the Deutsches Historisches Museum became the museum for the history of all parts of Germany.

In addition to acquisitions made by the MfDG, the stocks also included the militaria collection of the former Royal Prussian Zeughaus (Armoury). Supplemented by numerous new acquisitions since 1987, the collection of the Deutsches Historisches Museum now comprises some 900,000 objects. The Deutsches Historisches Museum has placed a large part of its collections at the disposal of researchers and the interested public online through its Database.

The Permanent Exhibition in the Zeughaus, German History in Images and Artefacts, with more than 7,000 objects, provides a unique overview of German history within its international context. The museum’s temporary Special Exhibitions can be seen in the Exhibition Hall designed by the Chinese American architect I.M. Pei. They are devoted to formative historical events, epochs and social developments.

A broad spectrum of additional information is conveyed through the exhibitions to specific groups by means of guided tours and history workshops. Scholars as well as history aficionados can also attend such events as lectures, panel discussions and conferences at the museum.

The Zeughauskino with its collection of historical film material shows thematic and monographic film series from the entire spectrum of German and international film history. This includes programmes linked thematically to the respective Special Exhibitions. It is also a venue for numerous festivals and film days.

The Deutsches Historisches Museum also has a public Reference Library with an extensive department of manuscripts as well as old and valuable prints, and a Picture Archive with around 500,000 photos on German and European history, important estates acquired from photographers and agencies, as well as documentations of the collections.

The Living Museum Online (LeMO), a cooperation with the Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn and the Federal Archive, is a virtual museum. It offers sound historical information as well as a large collection of textual and visual sources on European history from 1815 to the present day.

Opening hours

daily 10 am to 6 pm

Admission

Free up to 18 years
€ 8, reduced € 4

Tour booking

Permanent exhibition
Tel.  +49 30 20304-751

Special exhibitions
Tel. +49 30 20304-750
fuehrung@dhm.de

Museum shop

Onlineshop

http://dhm-shop.de/

In the museum

Cedon MuseumShop
Tel. +49 30 20304-621
dhm@cedon.de

Accessibility

All entrances are wheelchair accessible

Public transport

S-BAHN      
Hackescher Markt, Friedrichstraße

U-BAHN  
Französische Straße, Friedrichstraße, Hausvogteiplatz

BUS  
100, 200, TXL Staatsoper or Lustgarten

PARKING
Underground car park below Bebelplatz
City Quartier Dom Aquarée

Address

Deutsches Historisches Museum

Unter den Linden 2
10117 Berlin

Tel. +49 30 20304-0

info@dhm.de

Über uns

Das Deutsche Historische Museum ist Deutschlands nationales Geschichtsmuseum. Es versteht sich, in Berlins historischer Mitte gelegen, als ein Ort lebendiger Vermittlung und Diskussion von Geschichte.

Das Deutsche Historische Museum wurde 1987 anlässlich der 750-Jahr-Feier der Stadt Berlin von der damaligen Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Land Berlin gegründet. Im Rahmen des Vertrags zur deutschen Wiedervereinigung wurden die Gebäude und Sammlungen des Museums für Deutsche Geschichte (MfDG), das zentrale Geschichtsmuseum der DDR, in den Besitz des Deutschen Historischen Museums überführt. So wurde das Deutsche Historische Museum mit der Wiedervereinigung 1990 zu einem gesamtdeutschen Museum für Geschichte.

Neben den Erwerbungen des MfDG zählten auch die Militaria-Bestände des einstigen Königlich-Preußischen Zeughauses zu dieser Sammlung. Ergänzt durch die zahlreichen Neuerwerbungen seit 1987 umfasst die Sammlung des Deutschen Historischen Museums heute rund 900.000 Objekte. Einen großen Teil der Sammlung stellt das Deutsche Historische Museum der Forschung und interessierten Öffentlichkeit online in seiner Datenbank zur Verfügung.

Die Dauerausstellung im Zeughaus Deutsche Geschichte in Bildern und Zeugnissen mit mehr als 7.000 Objekten gibt einen einzigartigen Überblick über die deutsche Geschichte im internationalen Kontext. Die wechselnden Sonderausstellungen des Museums sind in der Ausstellungshalle des chinesisch-amerikanischen Architekten I. M. Pei zu sehen. Sie widmen sich prägenden historischen Ereignissen, Epochen und gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen.

Durch Führungen und Geschichtswerkstätten wird in den Ausstellungen zielgruppengerecht ein breites Spektrum an weiterführenden Informationen vermittelt. Fachgelehrte sowie historisch Interessierte können zudem Veranstaltungen wie Vorträge, Podiumsgespräche oder Tagungen besuchen.

Das Zeughauskino mit seiner Sammlung historischen Filmmaterials zeigt thematisch und monographisch ausgerichtete Filmreihen aus dem gesamten Spektrum der deutschen und internationalen Filmgeschichte. Darunter sind Programme, die an die Themen der jeweiligen Sonderausstellungen anknüpfen. Darüber hinaus ist es Spielort zahlreicher Festivals und Filmtage.

Zum Deutschen Historischen Museum gehören auch eine öffentliche Präsenzbibliothek mit einer umfangreichen Abteilung für Handschriften sowie alten und wertvollen Drucken sowie das Bildarchiv mit rund 500.000 Abzügen zur deutschen und europäischen Geschichte, bedeutenden Nachlässen von Fotografen und Agenturen sowie den Dokumentationen der Sammlungen.

Das Lebendige Museum Online (LeMO), eine Kooperation mit dem Haus der Geschichte der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in Bonn und dem Bundesarchiv, ist ein virtuelles Museum. Es bietet wissenschaftlich fundierte Informationen sowie eine große Sammlung an Text- und Bildquellen zur europäischen Geschichte von 1815 bis zur Gegenwart an.

Öffnungszeiten

täglich 10–18 Uhr

Eintritt

bis 18 Jahre frei
8 €, ermäßigt 4 €

Führungsbuchung

Besucherservice

Dauerausstellung
Tel.  +49 30 20304-751

Sonderausstellungen
Tel. +49 30 20304-750
fuehrung@dhm.de

Museumsshop

Onlineshop

http://dhm-shop.de/

Vor Ort

Cedon MuseumShop
Tel. +49 30 20304-621
dhm@cedon.de

Barrierefreier Zugang

Rollstuhlgerechter Zugang zu allen Ausstellungen

Verkehrsverbindung

S-BAHN      
Hackescher Markt und Friedrichstraße

U-BAHN  
Französische Straße, Friedrichstraße und Hausvogteiplatz

BUS  
100, 200, TXL Staatsoper oder Lustgarten

PARKEN  
Tiefgarage unterm Bebelplatz
City Quartier Dom Aquarée

Adresse

Deutsches Historisches Museum

Unter den Linden 2
10117 Berlin